StromTrooper banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Directions call for a 2 part epoxy but I am out and already bought yamabond grip glue. Any problems?

·
Premium Member
2,208 Posts
Directions call for a 2 part epoxy but I am out and already bought yamabond grip glue. Any problems?
not sure i follow the question.

you've bought symtec grip heaters, and symtec recommends a specific grip glue, which you don't have. you want to know if yamabond grip glue will work? didn't the symtec kit come with adhesive?

if not, i'd be tempted to order the symtec recommended stuff. i could easily imagine regular glue losing its grip once you crank up the heat.

but i'm just guessing; i've no firsthand experience with symtec/regular grip glue.

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Symtec comes with adhesive to put the heaters on to the bars. I am looking at adhesive to bond the grips to the heaters.

I already have yamaha grip glue and am thinking the recommended epoxy would be permanent forcing me to destroy the heaters if I want to change grips or bars etc..

I am basically asking if anyone thinks the yamabond would take the heat.

·
What Kinda Bike Is That?
5,520 Posts
you've bought symtec grip heaters, and symtec recommends a specific grip glue, which you don't have. you want to know if yamabond grip glue will work? didn't the symtec kit come with adhesive?
The Symtec heaters don't need a glue to apply them. They have a self stick adhesive on the handlebar side of the element. Peel the paper off and apply the heating element around the bar tube like a bandaid.