StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi to everyone! I'm a freshman out here, been reading threads and wondering. I feel there's a lot of guys out here, whose comments on this topic would be a bless! Also, I see that I have made a good decision getting a Wee. Been taking a few test rides and I can say, I like it.
Now, since last fall, I have been looking to get myself a Wee, released somwhere around 2007+. Now I have found a bike that's 2007, loaded with hard cases, crash bars etc, the first owner rode it till last spring. He always used local Suzuki dealer for maintenance and checks. He used it for what it's built for - travel. All across the Europe and further. The bike has roughly 80k on the clock. I'm planning to go see that bike this weekend.
I'm a little conserned about the km on the odo, not too much though.
My main point, making this thread is: what should I be aware or look maybe more closely at a bike that's been on the road for purpose for 80k km? Considering, it's always/mostly been used with luggage and "who knows" on which roads (I mean, it's not all highways around here), might it be a bad choice and I should be keeping my eyes open for a little longer? I'm looking for a bike for longer period of time, and I'm also not interested in owning a bike just to start fixing it right away.
What do you think about all that- am I ower thinking or there's a truth somewhere between?

Cheers!

·
Registered
10 Posts
Relatively new Wee owner here, but I'll give it a shot. Buying a bike with that many kms would definitely give me pause, especially if I wanted to ride it long term. Buying a bike with low miles was one of my few hard requirements because I've gone through buying 2 and 4 wheeled vehicles with high hours/miles and it can turn it into a project.