StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
816 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been riding for close to 10 years now, am on my 2nd bike, and have decided that this spring will be moving on to a Wee-Strom.

The main reason I've chosen the Wee is that, of all the people I've talked to that have owned multiple bikes, of which at least one was a V-Strom, every one of them has said the Wee was, hands-down, the best of the lot. Hard to ignore that kind of praise. Regardless, I test rode a few other bikes in the category, as well as a Wee, and found nothing to change me mind.

Switching to the V-Strom represents a bit of a change for me. My 2 previous bikes, a 1983 Honda Nighthawk 550 and a 1998 Kawasaki Concours, while very different bikes, shared some underlying elements: inline 4 engine, shaft drive, relatively easy to work on for a novice, etc.

Now that I've decided to make the move to a V-twin, chain-drive bike, what can I expect to be different?

Obviously, I'll now have to deal with chain maintenance. For those of you that have made similar moves, are there any other significant changes I should be thinking about in advance?

·
Registered
2,957 Posts
Perhaps less maitenance then on your 2 previous bikes. And the chain is nothing to worry about it as long as you have center stand on your bike

·
Premium Member
5,255 Posts
What is your inseam.

·
Registered
714 Posts
I've been riding for close to 10 years now, am on my 2nd bike, and have decided that this spring will be moving on to a Wee-Strom.

The main reason I've chosen the Wee is that, of all the people I've talked to that have owned multiple bikes, of which at least one was a V-Strom, every one of them has said the Wee was, hands-down, the best of the lot. Hard to ignore that kind of praise. Regardless, I test rode a few other bikes in the category, as well as a Wee, and found nothing to change me mind.