StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. To start off I have never in my 66 years ever joined any forum. Don't know a lot about threads and the like. So with that I hope you have patience for/with me. Thanks in advance.
I have been riding bikes off and on since I was 12 or so. Last bike was a 1200 sportster. Got tired of leaning over so Im looking at purchasing a used V-strom.
With that, I have a few questions. I apologize early if this is NOT where I am suppose to do this.
Q: are there any years I should stay away from?
What is considered too many miles for a used bike?
Anything I should look for?
Anything you can think of I would appreciate.... Mike

·
Registered
151 Posts
Welcome, Mike! I'm pretty new to V-Stroms so can only tell you that my first generation 650 (2010) is amazing. All of the 650s have potential problems with the stator/RR combination, so you should either be sure to buy one that has an upgraded RR and a voltmeter, or budget to make those changes immediately.

·
Premium Member
2,928 Posts
Welcome to the Stromtroopers.
How much money would you like to spend?
Have you looked in the For Sale Section?
That is where I found my current cycle.
Never regretted it either.
Good luck.

·
Registered
2,743 Posts
Welcome, Mike! I'm pretty new to V-Stroms so can only tell you that my first generation 650 (2010) is amazing. All of the 650s have potential problems with the stator/RR combination, so you should either be sure to buy one that has an upgraded RR and a voltmeter, or budget to make those changes immediately.
This is a very broad statement and does not really reflect reality. Other makes also have stator failures, so I would not use that as a decisive criteria. Yes install a V meter if it does not have one so you can monitor the health of the system.