StromTrooper banner

What tires are you currently running on you V-Strom?

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Ok, we've been talking about different tires for a while now so I'm curious as to what tires are you currently running on your bike and why. I'm only listing tires that are for 70/30 road/off road use since that’s what most of us are using. If you vote, please leave a comment as to what you like about the tires you chosen.

I'm currently running D607 and very happy with them. Seem to me that they are the best bang for the buck giving good performance with a relatively low price.

Wingman

·
Premium Member
4,417 Posts
I still have the Trailwings on my 1000. I replaced the rear (damn nail) about 5,000 miles ago. I'm interested in your opinion of the 607's since I have a set coming to me.

·
Premium Member
4,254 Posts
They came with the bike. Seem to ride real nice but I'm a NOOB and haven't ridden anything else

·
Premium Member
793 Posts
Actually, all the tires listed above are either 90/10 or 95/5, except for the TKC80s, which may be 70/30.

I have Metzlers front and rear. The front has 3k on it and is barely worn. The rear, on the other hand, with 6k on it, isn't doing so hot. People are claiming to get 15k out of rear Metzlers. I doubt mine will make it to 10k. They are great on road and ok off-road. Good on gravel and packed dirt but worthless on mud or wet grass. They are a little pricey. I often see good deals online for the Dunlops and the Pirellis.

I didn't have a problem with the Trailwings, but everyone seemed to like the Metzlers so I gave them a try. On road I don't notice a difference, but offroad the Metzler is better.

·
Premium Member
8,025 Posts
The original Trailwings are just about at the end of their road and a new set of Michelin Pilot Roads arrived on Monday.

No problem with the Bridgestones -- just wanted to try something else.

·
Registered
41 Posts