StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
213 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My local city added a fresh batch of tar snakes on the roads today. Why is it that they need to spread a 2" wide stream of tar to fill a 1/4" crack in the road? It seems to me that it would save on a lot of tar if they were a little more efficient and only filled the crack.

·
Premium Member
3,418 Posts
Just a guess but maybe the application tool they use puts out a 2 in strip so one tool does it all......covers various size cracks.

Also I don't think they just want to fill the crack I think they need to seal it from any water/moisture to prevent it from getting worse. That would require some overlap.

I do find them slippery on warm days in the curves.

Any Civil Engineers around?

·
Registered
1,437 Posts
Fun when wet too! Like having a dance partner with 2 left legs.:mrgreen:

·
Registered
5,029 Posts
I'm only guessing, since I'm not an engineer, but if they just put the tar inside the crack, there isn't as much surface area for the tar to adhere to when the frost and heave cycles begin in the winter time. If they overfill the crack and then spread out the tar on the road surface, there is that much more surface area that the tar plug can stick to. Plus the two inch wide strip on top probably provides a smoother surface to drive on, the way you feather out joint compound on a drywall joint rather than just stick a blob of mud where the drywall panels meet.

·
Registered
5,458 Posts
If they overfill the crack and then spread out the tar on the road surface, there is that much more surface area that the tar plug can stick to.
Yup, just like patching an inner tube. You don't reach for the tiniest patch that barely covers the pinhole.

When I had my Goldwing 1500 I found that some front tires would "grab" tarsnakes and jerk the handlebars rather than feel slippery on them.

·
Registered
818 Posts