StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been using plexus and novus for about 2 years and have a really heavy build up on the shield. When I ride in any kind of humidity the shield gets a foggy film on it. Trying to clean the film with either of the 2 products only makes it worse. Last night I took the shield off and cleaned it with dish washing soap which seemed to remove the film.

So, what do you guys use?

·
Registered
1,901 Posts
I use pledge
Mike

·
Registered
26 Posts
Paper towels

Everyone can cringe, but I have used bounty papertowels and whatever kind of soap and water I can find.

On a decent shield with scratch protection, good quality paper towels are no issue.

I've found that once a shield starts to fog easily, it's time for a new one. I snowmobile alot, and shield care/fogging is a huge issue for that sport.

·
$tromtrooper
2,378 Posts
Clean my face shield? Interesting idea.

·
Registered
524 Posts
Water, microfiber cloth.

·
Premium Member
1,459 Posts
I use Plexus and a microcloth. I use it on my helmet, visor, screen, and basically the whole bike. Great stuff. Expensive, but worth it.

I've used Plexus for years and have never had any build-up.

SS

·
Cowboys aint easy to love
2,115 Posts
All optical shops sell a lens cleaner specially formulated for anti-reflective and anti-glare lenses (which mostly get their special properties because of thin chemical coatings). I use it on my regular eyeglasses, my sunglasses, and my helmet visors. It cleans very well and is easily absorbed by microfiber cloths and wipes.

The best part: Buy a bottle at the Wal-Mart Optical Shop -- they have two sizes -- and get free refills. I've been doing that for at least three years. Of course, they'll figure out that it's costing them money someday and quit the freebies, but until then it's a great deal.

·
Registered
987 Posts