StromTrooper banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've always found the original rear suspension to be a little soft.
Any advice on mods? What about using a heavier fluid. I have no experience on this subject.

Can anyone point me to a thread here that discusses replacing the rear suspension?

TIA
Scooter

·
Registered
1,856 Posts
I've always found the original rear suspension to be a little soft.
Any advice on mods? What about using a heavier fluid. I have no experience on this subject.

Can anyone point me to a thread here that discusses replacing the rear suspension?

TIA
Scooter
You don't usually change fluid in rear shocks (front forks are more about fluid change)... You change the spring if you need to adjust the firmness... You can rebuild rear shocks as well or just buy a new shock all together. I could do a search for you for those suspension threads, but then again so could you just as easily...

Have you adjusted the preload on rear shock higher? Maybe even to the max setting? I am 170lbs and that max setting would be way too firm for me... What is your weight?

·
What Kinda Bike Is That?
5,522 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,231 Posts
Have you adjusted the preload on rear shock higher? Maybe even to the max setting? I am 170lbs and that max setting would be way too firm for me... What is your weight?
Preload does not change the stiffness of the shock, only the sag/ride height.

·
Registered
7,442 Posts
The rear suspension shock options are (in about order of price):
--Progressive Suspension brand shock
--Sasquatch modification (spring and damping to suit you)
--high performance aftermarket shock (remote adjuster adds to the price; not in any order)
----HyperPro
----Öhlins
----Elka
----probably some I forgot

One friend with the Progressive brand shock finds it better than stock but not totally adequate. Sasquatch does a great job, but be perfectly clear how you ride and how you want the shock...firmly damped or cushy.

·