StromTrooper banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
541 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My Wee died today. I have limited technical knowledge on motorcycles, please help me figure out what could have happened before I take it back to the place where it was serviced 800 kilometers (500 miles) ago.

Today noon turning onto Hwy 35 at Pontypool during acceleration there was a loud bang and the bike lost power and immediately developed an enormous sound. We made it back home with - probably - one cylinder. The coolant is not overheating, the oil pressure is maintained, the bike starts if I twist the throttle. It doesn't idle, without revving it chokes. And it sounds like a Harley with no pipes on.

6 days ago at the shop the replaced the brake pads, brake fluid, air filter, spark plugs, adjusted the chain and the bike got a general check-up.

All your inputs are greatly appreciated!

·
What Kinda Bike Is That?
5,522 Posts
This is a wild guess from me.

Because you heard a loud bang, and then a sound like a loud Harley, my thoughts are that one of the new sparkplugs blew out. It is quite possible that they new sparkplugs were not tightened down enough.

There are FOUR sparkplugs to your bike; two per cylinder. It seems to me that one, or two of them blew out of their hole.

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,104 Posts
That sounds like a pretty good guess to me.

·
Registered
541 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Because you heard a loud bang, and then a sound like a loud Harley, my thoughts are that one of the new sparkplugs blew out.
What can be the consequences? Is it possible that the thread was stripped and it needs a major service? Or just the plug shook loose and it needs to be put back, tighten and I'm good to go?

Is it reasonable to expect the shop to fix it under warranty?

·
38,104 Posts