StromTrooper banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
436 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I own an '08 Wee from North America. I want to add an O2 sensor. How difficult would this be?

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,103 Posts
I own an '08 Wee from North America. I want to add an O2 sensor. How difficult would this be?
It would require a Euro ECU and wiring harness. Are you aware it's only an emissions control device and will do nothing for performance?

·
Registered
436 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
It would require a Euro ECU and wiring harness.
I was hoping it would be as simple as buying a $20. sensor and plugging it into the existing harness. Anyone with a euro bike that needs a North American wiring harness?

Are you aware it's only an emissions control device and will do nothing for performance?
It's the OCD in me. Also call me a hippie, but I like clean air. It's one of the reasons I started riding in the first place. It also annoys me when I get knocking on low octane fuel at high altitude. I believe that an engine run at stoichiometric will last longer than one run anywhere else.

I thought it had one when I bought it!

·
38,103 Posts
High altitude means a lower octane requirement. My 650 runs fine on 85 octane over 5000ft. Good on ya for your concern about the environment. Most questions about emissions here are about taking the emissions gear off.

·
Registered
436 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
High altitude means a lower octane requirement.
I thought it was the other way around. Not trying to argue; a quick internet search shows I got it wrong. Now that I think about it the high octane didn't help as much as I assumed; I remember knocking around 9000ft on 91 octane.

Just chalk up another reason for the O2 sensor. I thought I left these altitude problems behind with my carburated bike.

·
38,103 Posts