StromTrooper banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello , I am new to this catagory, however back in my 20'sand 30's I had my beloved Suzuki DR-Z 400 and 650 .. I strayed from my Suzuki loving roots about two years ago .. the DR-Z 's are long gone .. and now I am seeing why I should of never left Suzuki . I have a 2011 HD hertiage softail classic.. and had one or more things causing it to be in the shop three times in the two years I have had it . I am so angry at HD .. how can you justify a $1000.00 to replace a rubber drive belt ?!?!?! this is a deal breaker .. If a bike is in the shop for three weeks for a fork seal repair and you get it back and your headlight does not work ... that is unacceptable. OK so enough of my blowing off steam.
I am interested in adventure riding and specifically the Suzuki V-strom . I am trying to educate my self so that I do not get ugly surprizes( like that it's a grand to fix a belt) . I am tring to make a wise purchase. so whilst I get my finacial ducks in a row, I am tring to do some research. Would my fellow Stormtroopers help me out and share your insights on the Vstrom ??.. which models and such should I stay away from? , what model years are good? I have read that vstroms have a lot of electronics .. how problem ridden are they ?
I am 47y.o. 5ft.11in. about 245lbs. I will mostly be riding on pavement, but really want the bike to do well on a dirt road or slightly more rual as well .. you might say I am looking for the cross of the sport bikes power and agility mixed with the ability of a duel sport in a long riding (200 mile range) comfortable package. also It must be reliable and inexpensive to maintain and repair.. please share your insights, or direct me to previous threads or information that coverd these questions ..