StromTrooper banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey there, I'm "curious" about the vstrom 1000. I'm 30 years old and looking to buy my first street bike (dirt biking since i was 10). The Vstrom 1000 has caught my attention. I'm mostly looking for it to be primarily a tourer, but ill ride it around the city in the summer too. Next summer I have trip planned from where I live in Alberta Canada out to east coast with my Dad and Uncle. I think this bike would fit the bill. I have $5500 Canadian to spend, looking at prices here that still puts me in a gen1. What year should I be looking for? I don't want to buy an 07 and miss out on some key updates if I had only gotten the 08 etc.. I really enjoyed youtube videos on the 2015+ vstroms, looks perfect(cant afford im an old guy university student). How different are they compared to the older ones that I can afford?

·
Super Moderator
16,886 Posts
Stay away from any of the 2012 and below.....you'll thank me.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Ignore that comment. :)
I have an 02 1000. I love it. I'd recommend getting the newest one you can (even if its a 2nd gen). The later first gens had front adjustable sag or preload and more stator capacity. 04-12 had a different windshield set up. I think that's pretty much it other than cosmetics.
They are reliable bikes with a few well known "quirks" -maybe?
Ones that come pre-farkeled will save some dough.
P.S. My riding buddy has a 1st gen 650. It's pretty quick. It surprised me. I would recommend riding one of those. They are surprising! It's easy to see why some guys swear buy them. Especially if you don't ride with a passenger. If you do have a passenger they are still really solid.

·
Registered
326 Posts
I would just say that you should get the bike you want, and not settle for something less. Buyer's regret really sucks. I currently have a 2015 V2 and love it. I also had a 2006 Wee and liked it too.

·
Registered
2,718 Posts