StromTrooper banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,104 Posts
The cam chains are tensioned by the coil spring in or on the cam chain adjusters numbers 6 and 8. There is also a pawl to apply a series of positive stops as the chains wear. There is no tension check procedure in the service manual.

·
38,104 Posts
It sounds like drive chain noise to me. It follows the bike speed rather than the engine rpm. Cam chain problems are rare on Stroms and when they happen it's because of clogged oil passages or other oil problems, not the chain tensioners.

·
Registered
1,589 Posts
is part #2 plastic or metal

I was wondering about durability (I'm an engineer - I can't help it)

·
38,104 Posts

I was wondering about durability (I'm an engineer - I can't help it)
A pic of this one damaged by a broken cam chain looks to be plastic.

·
Registered
6,663 Posts
All plastic followers work by the side plates cutting grooves then the broad surface of the body or rollers start riding on the plastic and the wear pretty much stops.

Remember to change them at your 200,000 mile service

I didn't know the cam chains were hi Vo types which somewhat contradicts what I just said

·
Registered
237 Posts
It sounds like drive chain noise to me. It follows the bike speed rather than the engine rpm. Cam chain problems are rare on Stroms and when they happen it's because of clogged oil passages or other oil problems, not the chain tensioners.
Not necessarily. My cam chain broke because of a manufacturing defect in the chain. Had I inspected it when I did the valve check I would have saved myself an engine rebuild. Sport-Touring.Net - DL1000 - Cam Chain Broke

·
Registered
6,663 Posts
seafoam would help but I think it would need a couple of rides

Most new oil has lots of fresh detergents in it and will do some serious cleaning. You can get 3 qts of decent dino oil as cheap as 1/2 a can of seafoam.

Drain
Fill with new dino oil I would choose rotella