StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
114 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I just picked up my new '14 V2 last Tuesday. I really like the way it rides and handles but there's a problem. Sometimes it won't shift into third ( and sometimes 4th ) gear. I've been riding for quite a few years so I'm very sure it's not operator error. I rode the bike to Suzuki of Dalton (great people), and their mechanic rode the bike for 20 minutes. It shifted perfectly. It's been a intermittant problem and it did it again on my way home.

I'll be taking it in for the 600 mile check and I'm planning on leaving it with them so they can ride the bike and really check it out.

Has anyone else had this kind of problem? What was the fix?

·
Registered
3,268 Posts
Yes mine was like that stock too, there is an arm that connects to the spline that arm connects to a rod that you use to adjust the gear shifter height along with the position of the arm. The position of the arm should be at 90 degrees. I can take a picture for you if you need further clarification.

Reactions: V-Tom

·
Administrator
13,816 Posts
As Tenny80 says the linkage is the first thing to check. Later on in ownership often that same linkage may need lube but that isn't likely the issue today.

Even though you/we have lots of experience in many cases it is user error.. We all get in habits of shifting certain ways based on bikes we are used to. When we get on a different bike with different ergonomics often we don't move the shifter quite right and as a result have bad shifts.

I haven't had anyone on the back on my DL1000 but I found on the 650's when I had a passenger my sitting position was a bit different and as a result I would occasionally mess up shifts when riding two up (or when carrying really large things in the back seat.)

Assuming the linkage is adjusted properly for you the odds are the problem will disappear or minimize as you get more seat time on it.

..Tom

·
Administrator
17,523 Posts