StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 67 Posts
G

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Since BK's asked, maybe we should identify V-Strom owner careers...

For myself, I'm a Management Consultant (and Technical Author) for a number of American and Canadian energy companies, as well as a couple of UK-based construction contractors working offshore North Sea. I've been posted to about a dozen or so different oil platforms, semi-submersible drilling or production rigs, drilling jack-ups, FPSOs and FSUs (ship based production units) in the past 12 years in the North Sea and Dutch sectors. I normally travel offshore for 2-3 days at a time (this is an extended trip as one of the other guys is on holiday in Montreal), and progress various projects back onshore. Hence normal 80 mi roundtrip commute on the V-Strom, but I'm not due back onshore until Tuesday. The food's good though, the weather's holding (so far) and they've planned a BBQ for tomorrow night (on an oil rig, but then some guys on another North Sea rig near Norway were fishing and caught a shark last week!).

I initially studied Heavy Equipment near Toronto, then Broadcasting, then a stint on FM radio. Not near enough money, so career change brought me to Aberdeen and the oil industry. Mid-life crisis resulted in MSc in Economics, and then motorcycles and my yellow V-Strom (only ever rode Honda's and Kawasaki's in the 1970s, but remembered well a Suzuki 650 I once saw).

What's everyone else do (if you're not riding)? Does anyone else occasionally envy motorcyle couriers? Has anyone figured out how to hold a Starbucks latte on the Strom yet? The gap between the windshield and the dash is just big enough for a muffin.

Cheers.

·
Registered
167 Posts
Hey Paul,

My cousin used to be the Marine Superintendent for Agip. I know he worked on Agip's platforms in the north sea but that was over 10 years ago.