StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Guys,

I was considering buying a 2017 V-storm 650 xt next month, when at the local motercycle dealership today, l spotted a new V-Storm 1000 GT 2016 discounted to 17k australian dollars.
The bike has it all, handguards, bags, engine cover etc, a huge ammount of savings.

Ive been riding for 24 years, 6 days a week, but now l need 1 bike, but 1 bike that can do it all, commuting, touring with a pillion, all weather conditions.

But my question is, is it really worth that ammount of money?

Cheers again for any thoughts or opinions.

·
Registered
690 Posts
What's the price of the 650?

Sent from my SM-T700 using Tapatalk

·
Super Moderator
4,626 Posts

·
aka Rick in Alabama
502 Posts
I'm happy with my 2014 DL650 and have ridden both, but the extra torque in the 1000 is nice.

Last year (2016) I found the 650 as a left-over and on the showroom floor. The left-over status helped me get a decent out of the door price.

But faced with a similar choice when I bought mine a year ago I might well be on a DL1000.

So my thought is this: If the price difference between the left over '16 model and the new '17 model is a gap you can jump... go for it.

Especially if you will be touring 2-up. You'll be glad you have the extra power when needed.

·
Registered
528 Posts
it's not just the power. More importantly, to me anyway, is the much better suspension and brakes on the 1000.

·
Registered
11,528 Posts
I had both - no brainer - 1000. It's better at everything except mileage a bit and initial price a bit. :wink2: Add a price of a new seat into the 650. lol

That is $12.7k USD for me to understand it. I'd offer $15-16k Aus.

·
Registered
5 Posts
When I bought mine the insureance was much cheaper on the 650 and over ther years that's been alot of money. I've never but a few times wanted more power, and less wieght is always nice and a little bit lower too.

·
Registered
58 Posts