Strom Trooper banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,

Noob here, so if this post isn't in the proper forum, skewer me good.

I'm looking to add some underglow to my 06 DL650. I'm planning on doing this primarily for added safety at night (I kinda live in the sticks). Yeah, a part of me thinks it looks cool, too. Anyways . . .

Where/how do you go about wiring the system up? I understand that it needs to be wired up to the positive and negative terminals, but . . .

some people advocate splicing in to the rear license plate light,
some people advocate grounding to the frame,
some people advocate not grounding to the frame at all, and
some people advocate grounding to the fuse box.

My ideal setup (at least in my mind) would include the LEDs, an on/off switch, and an inline fuse.

Any help would be appreciated.

·
Super Moderator
4,937 Posts
The simplest way would be to remove your seat and splice into the tail light wires. I am assuming that you will be using LED's with a very low draw. The brown (Br) is the power, and the black/white stripe (B/W) the earth return. It is already fused.

Alternatively look beneath the airbox, behind the radiator for an unused plug with orange/green stripe (O/G) and black/white stripe (B/W) which is the OEM heated grips plug. It is fused as well.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,747 Posts
Around here accent lights will get you pulled over and a ticket. You may want to see if they are legal where you are at before you draw unwanted attention your way.