StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have less than 300 miles on my DL650 and I don't know if the turn signals are working right. After I make my turn are the turn signal supposed to turn itself off like in a car (or on my Harley). Maybe I'm spoiled by that feature since my Sportster has it. It just seems like a simple enough thing Suzuki would have added it by now.

·
Registered
37 Posts
Manual turn off.
The turn signal switch is mechanical. Pressing it in is required to turn it off.
If it was electronic, it probably could turn off automatically.

·
Banned
1,121 Posts
No, self-cancelling indicators are not a feature of the V-Strom.

They are a handy feature, maybe they might appear on future generations.

·
Premium Member
1,927 Posts
My 79 Yamaha had them and when I started riding again and bought the Vstrom they weren't there. Doesn't make sense. All technology is going forward except the turn signals. :confused:

·
Registered
499 Posts
considering how dangerous it is to leave them on accidentally when on a bike you would think all bikes would come with auto canceling turn signals.

I would venture to say its maybe even more important a feature than ABS!

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,048 Posts
I had auto cancelling turn signals on my 1978 Yamaha XS1100E. I didn't like them. They were always turn off before the turn so I had to signal twice. Then I would cancel them manually anyway. Part of riding safely is checking your instruments regularly and doing so will show the blinker indicator if you had gotten distracted and left it on.

·
Registered
43 Posts

·
Registered
1,846 Posts
I just ordered an "indicator warning buzzer" on ebay. I've always hesitated to put beepers on the turn signals, but this one has an adjustable delay before it starts beeping. While not a cancel, it will let you know the signal is still on. Seems a good compromise.