Strom Trooper banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Farkle Purchasing System
1,331 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I started riding last October, I immediately bought a set of gear with both jacket and pants of the Tourmaster variety.

I chose the Caliber pant (awful garbage, see my previous review) and the Transition 4 jacket. They zip together.

The Tourmaster Transition 4 jacket has held up well, and been a remarkable value. I feel comfortable endorsing it as a starting jacket for a new rider, since that's what I was a year and ~13000 miles ago. Just...maybe if you live in the desert, try to find something with more ventilation - more on that below.

I've ridden almost every day since then. Lots of to and from work. Lots of weekend trips, both long and short.

I haven't ridden in the greatest variety of weather. Being based in the desert, I've mostly seen hot, dry, and dry, slightly-below-freezing to moderately-cold temperatures, with light or no precipitation. Rain is mostly confined to certain times of year; I've yet to be caught in a real downpour. I can therefore speak to the cold-weather performance of the jacket, but have no direct experience with its waterproof-ness.

The Transition 4 has a textile shell, which would become soaked in a heavy rain. It also has a water-resistant, permanently-installed lining. This does impair the breathability. I'll be shopping for a new jacket for that reason alone, before next summer.

That's because in the summer, this jacket is HOT. Damn hot! I don't want to suffer through another New Mexico summer in it. The shoulder and back vents do help, but you're going to be toasty. Soak a neck gaiter (like the excellent Mission Multicool) and your T-shirt for best results. In summer stop-and-go traffic, you still gon' sweat. A lot.