StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Premium Member
171 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm going to have to buy or fabricate some sort of tool tube/tool box to fit with the OEM miniscule side cases. I'm just beginning my search so I thought I would post a thread of inquiry to see if anybody here has come up with any good ideas. There are a plethora of great ideas for the larger cases with aftermarket racks; but, I'm hoping we can get some ideas for those of us with the ole side thimble cases. Heck, if I get a couple of good ideas I may ad one to each side. If you are a poster who has some uncontrollable desire to post something really inane like, "pack lighter" or "why do you need that?", then start another thread about how dumb people are who don't do things the way you do them.

Here is a picture of the side cases I reference.

·
Registered
106 Posts
The prior owner of my bike used hose clamps to clamp a piece of PVC tubing to the front top of the skid plate. One end is caped and the other has a threaded fitting.

Attachments

·
Registered
897 Posts
Have you tried fabric tool rolls? They pack the smallest of any option I know of. What is your tool load out? Here is the majority of mine, plus I carry a mini compressor, a tire repair kit, a wire stripper/crimper, a short 1/2" breaker bar for the front axle nut, and three tire levers including a 16" one. It all fits under the passenger seat of my vee along with some tye wraps, some fuel line and a couple clamps and electrical connectors.

I do always have trouble finding a good [place for my chain lube can and extra oil on a long trip.

·
Registered
15,517 Posts
My tool tube is attached to the inside of the saddle bag frame on the left side.
That's easy if you have only one exhaust.
On my BMW G650GS I attached it to the bottom of the factory saddle bag. I reinforced the bag with some extruded aluminum stock.

·
Registered
3,213 Posts