StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Trying to assemble a better tool kit for my 2014. I know this is a loaded question but what does everyone carry? The Stock kit is nearly useless IMHO.

I have 8,10,12,14,17,19 sockets and end wrenches, 3/8 T-handle, 4inch extension, JIC#2 screwdriver as well as a 8-in-1, Needle nose, 8" Cobra grip, and 6" needle nose vice grips, 8" adj, small cheater bar and flashlight.

What am I missing? I'm not a round the world rider and I'm a crappy bike mechanic so I'm not gonna be rebuilding the engine in a hotel parking lot, I'd just like to cover the basic maintenance/repair needs.

·
Registered
1,673 Posts
Richlandrick talked about a shorty rear axle nut wrench, would be good to have along if you have to remove a rear wheel. For the flashlight I use a headband type, adjustable beam for angle and intensity, and 2 of mine have read or white emergency flashing as well. 2 weeks ago Northern Tool was selling them for $2.49 each! I used the 1st type with the adjustments at work, so now it's in my tankbag. Keeps the hands free while working in the dark.

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Some further suggestions or via the search, look for toolkit
I follow the "Toolkit Thread" on ADV but that one gets kinda overwhelming, was looking more specifically for what my fellow 'Strommers are carrying.

I did forget that I have a set of allen wrenches, I need to figure out which ones I need and get rid of the unneeded ones.

I have a tire plug kit and 12V pump but no way to carry it under the seat. It usually tags along on longer trips strapped to the rack.

Duct tape, some wire, connectors, safety wire, spare master link, and fuses I consider spare parts. They are also on the bike under the seat.

·
Registered
718 Posts
Seems a little heavy on mechanical tools to me.