StromTrooper banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all I know this issue has been posted numerous times and I'm beating the proverbial dead horse. I'm wanting a motorcycle and have only little experience riding dirt bikes when I was young.

I'm a law enforcement Officer and do collision reconstruction. I've seen the aftermath of riding irresponsibly. Talking to guys at work, they think I could handle a VEE or Bandit. I'm 6'04" and 290lbs, I've got some meat to move on two wheels. I know its not the preferred starter bike but I feel that my size and responsibility, I might be able to make it work.

Any ideas? I want to stick with the sport tourer style, no crotch rockets. I also want to be able to grow into it and later down the road, ride two up with my soon to be wife. Ride safe & THANKS!

·
Administrator
13,812 Posts
Both would work for you, but if you are going to be two up with your weight plus wife the DL1000 with slightly lowered gearing might be best. (Having siad that, I rode my bike 500 miles at 75 to 85 mph with me (around 250 lbs at the time) and a passenger that weighed at least 220 lbs and had no issues.)

..Tom

·
Registered
875 Posts
...I'm wanting a motorcycle and have only little experience riding dirt bikes when I was young...
Normally this would scream Wee. In your case, you're going to be north of 300 lbs in gear. If you've got a head on your shoulders I think the Vee may work out better. The power to weight ratio on your case would be similar to most new riders on a Wee.

·
Premium Member
1,981 Posts
Talking to guys at work, they think I could handle a VEE or Bandit. I'm 6'04" and 290lbs...............
Damn, I should hope so!