StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Premium Member
181 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So. I've almost got the money saved. (My treasurer/wife is big on "no debt for nuttin' that isn't a house.") Been watching here, Craigslist, and ADVRider to see what's available used and what's a good deal vs. not a good deal. Definitely want a 650, ideally already with luggage (my Excel spreadsheet says a used bike with hard top and side bags is on average $456 more than a bike without bags, which is WAY cheaper than buying new).

My big question now is, ABS? Or Not ABS?

The average Not ABS used bike with bags I'm looking at is, say, a 2007 with 35k miles for about $2500-3000.

The average ABS used bike with bags I'm looking at is, say, a 2011 with 15k miles for about $4500-5000.

(And yes, I know a lot of that difference is just "newer vs. older". I estimate about $1300 of the difference is just that.)

Now, I started riding late; learned at age 45 9 years ago, and my last bike died 3+ years ago, so I've not been riding over that time. I'm not the best rider out there, and I know it. I'm also an out-of-shape lardass, for whatever difference that makes. (6'1", should be 200 lb, actually 260 lb.)

So is ABS likely to be a lifesaver for me? A big enough difference to get a newer bike even at a higher price? Or should I save my simoleons and just get a good less-expensive non-ABS bike?

(I'm in California and would ride year-round, some commuting and some weekend touring, if that helps.)

·
Registered
58 Posts
Wait around and find a good deal on exactly what you want. I managed to snatch an 08 ABS with (translating from units that make sense for the benefit of americans) roughly 30k miles for $2800, and it has pelican case panniers, a top box, a skid plate, crash bars and heated grips.

·
Registered
14,473 Posts