StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Got about 2000 miles on the V-Strom. The stock rubber has not been a problem. I view my Strom an an Uber-commuter. Thus far... limited time spent off-road, 10% of the time has been in the wet stuff. No complaint.

Though I have been riding for about 25 years, I doubt that I currently posses the nerve to really test the limits of the bike or the tires. Being a paratrooper for my Uncle Sam took me from daily rider/canyon carver of my Bandit 1200S, to barely being able to get in and out of my wheelchair, then back into the saddle of a new DL1000. I ride well, and work hard not to get "psyched-out" if the bike swims or moves under me. The thought of un-doing my doctor's efforts has me riding at about 80% of personal skill. I'd like to know just how hard one can push a V-Strom on the trail Wings, as I ease myself back into the "zone".

·
Registered
156 Posts
I haven't found the limits of mine yet. But I have no chicken strips left on the rear, and I've only scraped the foot peg once on the right hand side. (Left hand for those in USA)

·
Registered
97 Posts
I've had no issues with the Trailwings either. They've worked well enough for me in all sorts of conditions. I've ridden in light snow, frost, black ice, and even over sand and gravel with them.

After 12,000kms they needed replacing and I'm now trying a set of Dunlop D607's. So far I like them, they definitely feel different, can't say if they're a better tire or not yet as i've only had them one for about 400km so far.

·
Registered
285 Posts
Same here with the Trailwings.
I've been using the Dunlop 607 last two changes on my 650.
If you want total street get a BT20.
Much more flexible and very grippy.
They weigh a few pounds less than either the Trailwings or the 607.
My riding buddy used them on his last two changes and he loves them.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks