StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Premium Member
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Coming up on some new tires. OEM on my 2012 GLEE. What tires would you consider for just one step toward Gravel/Hard pack dirt. I guess I would say
75/25 or such. Thanks

·
Registered
110 Posts
Check out the Metzeler Karoo 3. They're stated as being 70/30. You might also look at the Shinko 705s. I have no experience with either but there are plenty of reviews of both to get some ideas. I went with the Heidenau K76 and am not too thrilled with them. I wouldn't say they're particularly bad. Just not quite as good as the OEM tires.

·
Registered
110 Posts
Just to add a bit more commentary: I doubt you'll notice a significant difference with a 70/30 like the Karoo. My impression is that if you want a tire that makes a noticeable difference, go with a 50/50 like the Heidenau K60, Continental TKC80, or something along those lines.

·
Registered
264 Posts
The Full Bore tires are some great tires for the money. Tread is the same as the Shinko's just a little more agressive. (pattern in a little wider) I have over 8000 miles on mine and the rear is real close to the end of it's life, the front is still 75%.......

·
Registered
509 Posts
I have the Shinkos front and rear. I like them a lot. The bike handles very well with them. I haven't really ridden in much gravel though.

·
Registered
7,442 Posts
Michelin Anakee 3 is one good choice.

The Shinko705/FullBore M40 tires are OK, low cost, rear wears fast, if you pay to get them changed may cost more per mile, I didn't like the drone noise at certain speeds.

The Metzeler Karoo 3 is 30/70, I think--30% on pavement and 70% off.
“They hook up well on all surfaces and will break loose where I want them to. In wet conditions, they did not pack up with mud and were very predictable on the trail or road. One of the better tires I have ever used.”
Metzeler Karoo 3 Motorcycle Tires Review | Rider Magazine

·
Registered
110 Posts