StromTrooper banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
714 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Somebody point me in the right direction if this has already been discussed elsewhere. But through the years I have read multiple comments here from Strommers claiming to get 8, 9 or even 10,000 or more miles out of a rear tire. And 15,000 or more out of a front.

So OK, I'll bite. What's your trick? I've been riding street for 30 years, and have NEVER got that kinda mileage out of a tire. On any bike. With any brand. 4 to 5,000 on a rear is about average for me. Sometimes as little as 3,000.

My scoots have included sport bikes (GSXR, and a Busa) as well as a couple of Harleys, and my Wee. I rarely ride 2-up. My Wee has panniers and a top case, but they are only fully loaded a couple times a year. Usually it's just me (180 lbs), maybe a spare jacket or rain gear, and a soft cooler with a 6-pack. I dont think weight is my issue.

Yes I ride fast, I guess 10 to 15 over the posted speed, and most of my riding is South Texas and its hot here. And most of the good twisty roads are chip-seal asphalt. On the Wee I've used Shinko 705s, Tourance, and ME 880s. I check pressure regularly and run em at whats on the sidewall. No brand has lasted significantly longer than the other. The 880s were the longest lasting I guess, but they are strictly a street tire.

Thoughts, ideas, theory's?

I think it's a combination of very hot and rough chip-seal asphalt and perhaps high speeds?

·
Premium Member
4,305 Posts
I would guess the road surface and temp have the most to do with it.

Guess you could go darkside and see how you like it, at least on the back. Not something i would ever do but i don't get 3k miles on a tire either. Thats nuts.

Riding with low pressure is known to wear tires out faster. Higher pressure is supposed to prolong tire life.

·
Registered
459 Posts
I think it's a combination of very hot and rough chip-seal asphalt and perhaps high speeds?