StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
714 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
OK guys, got a delima I can't see to figure out.

I've been riding for 35 years so by no means do I consider myself a newbie or a rookie. But when it comes to getting miles out of a tire (front or rear) I guess I am a rookie......

Throughout this forum, and others, I read where people state they get 10k, 11k, or more, out of a rear tire. And it doesnt seem to be brand specific - folks generally relate this to all makes.

What am I doing wrong? Throughout my experiences with now two different Wee's, as well as a couple of crotch rockets, a BMW, and even a pair of Harleys, I have never, I repeat, never, gotten more than 4k to 5k out of a rear tire..... period.

I am religious about maintaining proper air pressure, I do ride a little fast I guess (love the twisties) but not excessively. I live\ride mostly in South Texas where our summer temps generally stay in the 90's to 100's so yea, the road surfaces are hot. And those surfaces run the typical range - grooved concrete, old chunked asphalt, new blacktop, etc. And I rarely venture off-road with the Vee (got a dirt bike for that fix) and I don't overload my Wee - heck I dont even run with the panniers normally unless I'm on a trip. Lastly, I weigh 170 lbs and I never ride 2-up (the wife dosen't participate in my obsession), so what gives????

Do you 10k guys only ride in the rain, and\or on cold days? :confused:

Any thoughts, suggestions??

·
Registered
1,393 Posts
I have an 8500 mile rear TW that simply won't die (I really want to replace it with a Conti Trail Attack). I ride pretty much every day, rain, sun, cold, hot (I live in Maine). I ride mostly street, but seek dirt for short stretches. I'm not light on the throttle, I have a 2002 DL1000 and like to use a little throttle from time to time. I guess I will get another 2K on that rear.