StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 78 Posts

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to these dynamic balancing beads/goos...

Would seem to me that they would work ok for travel at constant speed, but your tires would be inherently out-of-balance during acceleration/deceleration until the beads have a chance to orient themselves during steady state operation.

Since we accelerate and decelerate a lot on motorcycles, and can be most dependent on properly balanced tires to brake smoothly, I'm not inclined to trust these products.

-Russ

·
Registered
6,663 Posts
Most of the goo is viscous enough to stay put during accel/deccel.

Really it works well. I like to balance my rims temporarily then the tire with tape weights.

·
Registered
5,458 Posts
When the tire's rotational speed is slow enough that the beads or goo are not evenly dispersed by centrifugal force I would think that balance is not a significant factor. IIRC, dirt bike tires are not balanced when installed because they do not normally reach speeds where it matters.

·
Registered
225 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
But Mike, the beads balance the tire by not being evenly distributed by centrifugal force. If they were evenly distributed, the tire would be just as out-of-balance as it was without them.

Under acceleration (or deceleration) the beads will roll around the inside of the wheel and need to redistribute when the speed levels out...

-Russ

·
Registered
5,458 Posts
But Mike, the beads balance the tire by not being evenly distributed by centrifugal force. If they were evenly distributed, the tire would be just as out-of-balance as it was without them.
Hmmmm....good point. The answer may lie in the Mayan calendar.:mrgreen:

·
Official Stromtrooper.com Sponsor
5,404 Posts
I have not balanced a motorcycle tire for years. At least 20 sets. I get the same mileage as average, same wear patterns everyone talks about. I don't have any vibrations that feel like they are from tires/wheels.