StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Premium Member
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to this forum. I just bought a new wee 650. I love it. I have added about $3000 in extras. List to long to write. What I didn't buy, I made at work. Yes I'm a fabriquator by trade. Welding, Cnc , sheet metal, press brakes, lasers, tube banders, welders, you name it. All for me to play with. Any ways, my question is in reguards to tire balancing. Every one talks about installing their own tires. Buying a tire mounting table at harbor freight. But what about balancing the tires?????? Please help on this topic. I would like to be able to change from on road to off road tires. What is the process? Paying to have it done just doesn't seem right. To much money. Please help. I'm new on the forum, I don't really know my way around. Help and thank you for your time.

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,103 Posts

·
Premium Member
3,735 Posts
I just take mine to the dealer. $25 to mount and balance a tire (if it's off the bike) once or twice a year isn't worth messing with to me.

·
Registered
7,442 Posts
1---make a static balancer. You just need a frame and a pair of cones on a shaft to center the wheel. You might use a pair of ball bearings on each side so the shaft turns easily.
http://roadstarclinic.com/content/view/83/130/

2---Balance with Dynabeads. Works well for me.

·
Registered
297 Posts
I bought and like this one- http://www.marcparnes.com/Suzuki_Motorcycle_Wheel_Balancer.htm
I set it between two gallon oil jugs, and make sure they are level by unscrewing one of their caps with a level setting on them.
Also you will need a set of tire irons, a set of rim protectors, some stick-on wheel weights, and a bead breaker: http://www.webbikeworld.com/t2/bead-breaker/motorcycle-tire-bead-breaker.htm (I use my back porch, not my vehicle)
Then search for and read every motorcycle tire changing post you can find on the internet till you get a good idea which is easiest or best.