StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Long story short, I am a dumb rookie mechanic to my own vstrom. I threaded my rear axle because I over torqued the nut taking off the wheel and it was a pain in the ass to get off and now I'm afraid to put it back on because the axle threads seems broken. See picture attached. Are my options to buy a new axle or to fix the threads on the axle?

Many thanks

Attachments

·
Registered
423 Posts
Looks like you suffered from thread galling....occurs because of the dissimilar metals used. It is a common enough issue that the legendary Greywolf advised anti-seize be applied and torque setting reduced to 58 lb ft to compensate for lubricity--before this happens. Unfortunately, you did not get the memo in time.

Replacement is warranted and if you do a quick search on this, you'll find lots of stories and recommendations. Hope this helps.

·
Registered
328 Posts
It is called galling. You can find all about it here with a search on axle torque and galling. I would say new axle and nut. I used never seize the first time I disassembled the rear and under torqued. That is what I did but could not recommend to anyone taking any action other than the manufacturers recommended corrective procedure. kfh000

·
Premium Member
1,240 Posts
Hmm.. just torque'd mine down to 72.5 this past weekend. Is the recommendation to use 58 and use red thread locker? Do you have a link to GW's post?

·
Premium Member
1,240 Posts
No, anti-seize and 58 foot pounds.
Ahh, thank you for clarifying! I bought red locker with the intent of putting that on.

There's no concern of adding some lubricity to the axle threads from the anti-seize? I have nickel and copper based AS. Any preference?

I suppose I could just re-torque periodically to give me the warm and fuzzy if I'm concerned about the torque setting.

I'm going to redo that tonight. I would hate to run into this scenario.

·
Registered
1,513 Posts