StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
441 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't know about the rest of the world but here in the mountains of New Hampster our Winter is just not happening. I've been riding motorcycles in New England for some 30 years now and I can't remember anything like it.

Normally in January there would be about two feet of snow in my front yard. There'd be a thick sheet of ice on the driveway and the wind chill would be somewhere below zero F while a twenty knot wind lashed against my North wall.
That's not the case right now.

In fact I took a very enjoy able 175 mile putt around the mid to southeastern section of the state today on some favorite back roads. The grip heaters went on a few times but I never once switched on the heated vest. Not once. In January. Whoa.

Anybody else having a super-extended riding season? All you lucky bastards who have normal year-round riding need not reply. (Just kidding, chime in if you like...)

Cheers,

MW (Mount Washington) Valley

·
Premium Member
3,735 Posts
Ditto for us. I mentioned something about it in another post earlier today.

I rode 225 miles yesterday simply because it was a bit over 60 degrees here, and way to pretty not to ride. We've had some chilly weather, but none of the normal bitter December / January cold. I think the coldest I've seen this year so far was about 30 degrees and that was early in the morning. Mid-day temps have yet to be lower than about 40 or so, and that just isn't right for us. It's rained a lot, but not anywhere near cold enough for any snow so far.

·
Premium Member
15,739 Posts
Down here in Melbourne we had hail and small amount of snow on Christmas day! Three days earlier it was high 30s C (near 100F).
I see that the medium term weather forecasts show the NE USA getting a very severe cold spell in Feb / March. I wonder how that's going to affect all the flora that they keep showing on TV here which is already in it's spring bud?

·
Registered