StromTrooper banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So since this is the first time I've ever bought a brand new bike, I didn't consider that modifications and DIY projects probably wouldn't have been thought up yet. So here it is: the inevitable "how do I mount ammo cans to my Strom" thread. Since we knew it was coming, we might as well go full noob on it.

This is really convenient to me because I'm actually an ordnance technician, so ammo cans are at my disposal. I'm not terribly worried about weight, but I do like cutting resources when I can. I have a welding/machine shop available to me as well, I just need some input. I've never built pannier mounts before so I wouldn't even know where to start.

-Where would I want to bolt the mounts in?
-do I need cross-bars to go under the tail, or are these sturdy enough mounted directly into the side?

Anything helps. Thanks guys!

·
Registered
5,108 Posts
For something as heavy as a 40mm ammo can, I'd say the cross bar between the pannier racks is a necessity. Unmodified 40mm cans weigh I believe 22 pounds apiece.

As far as designing pannier racks, there are threads on here from guys who have fabricated their own. Some look awesome, and some don't. With a full machine shop at your disposal, it shouldn't be too hard to duplicate the commercially available ones, but if you wait a bit longer, the aftermarket manufacturers will probably soon be making pannier racks for the new DL1000. I have Happy Trails racks on my 650, and their shape and design look like it wouldn't be too hard to make, provided you have a welder and a hydraulic pipe bender. If you want photos of the racks up close, I can take some for you.

I haven't seen the new DL up close, so I don't know where the hardpoints are that you would mount the racks.