StromTrooper banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
70 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I purchased a used DL650 K6. I towed it south in January for my first ride on it. I was Not impressed and had some buyers remorse. I have been riding for 40 years and bought the Wee for it's lighter weight than my cruiser, easy towability and good gas mileage.
I rode it a couple of days in the hills west of Austin Texas and loved it. Then I needed to ride to Houston and got in a windy ride and Hated it, as I was blown all over the highway. Also it started to miss fire and then left me stranded as it wouldn't start after the hard ride into the wind. So I soon figured out why it was on the used market.
Due to input from this forum, I was able to figure out it needed a TPS ( throttle position sensor) and it would profit from lowering the front forks.
It was almost like magic. Now it is stone reliable and is Much, much better on gusty days, crosswinds and passing semi's. I think I will be owning this machine for quite some time.
Too bad the first owner didn't take advantage of a great forum, his loss, my gain! Thank you so much!

·
FORUM GODFATHER.....R.I.P. PAT
38,103 Posts
Thanks for the feedback. I never cease to be amazed by the different reactions to lowering the front 10-15mm, or even the 7-10mm ABS bikes can handle with a fork brace. Reactions go from yours down to "it's almost uncontrollable". It's a good thing it's free and simple for folks to try and go back if needed.

·
Administrator
13,807 Posts
Thanks for the feedback. I never cease to be amazed by the different reactions to lowering the front 10-15mm, or even the 7-10mm ABS bikes can handle with a fork brace. Reactions go from yours down to "it's almost uncontrollable". It's a good thing it's free and simple for folks to try and go back if needed.