StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I just purchased an 05 650 and I'm new to the bike and the forum.

I've had the bike for just a week and and have made several short trips and it has started and runs perfectly. Only 3k on the odometer.

However I purchased a new tank bag this weekend and placed it on for the ride home from the store. I turned on the key, pressed the start button and nothing happened. It was as if the kill switch near the grip was off.

I checked fuses, all good. I cleaned the battery terminals and removed the tank bag and it fired right up. I assumed it was the terminals so this morning I put the tank bag on and headed out for a long ride. Same thing, no start and the "chec" lcd was blinking. I turned off the key, removed the tank bag, waited a few minutes and it started right up and no "chec" indicator.

I left the bag off and went for my ride and had several stops and starts with no issue. I'm taking the bag back tomorrow since somehow this is the problem. It's either creating a venting issue or the magnets in the bag are creating some type of electrical malfunction.

I've used tank bags for years and have never had anything like this. Have any of you heard or experienced anything similar?

Thanks in advance

·
Premium Member
15,739 Posts
I've used tank bags for years and have never had anything like this. Have any of you heard or experienced anything similar?
I've used both magnetic and non magnetic tank bags for over 30 years and never heard that one before. Are you sure that you are not turning full left lock with the bars and knocking the kill switch off?

Telling us the make and model of the Tank Bag might help as well.

·
$tromtrooper
845 Posts