StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 33 Posts

·
Registered
942 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
When I take long bike trips, I always have my iPhone and sometimes take a 7" netbook so I can check email, log into weather sites, check news, and connect into the servers at work in case of emergency tech support needs (I work in IT). I also use one or the other to play games and read eBooks when chilling in the evenings. The iPhone does much of what I want but it's got a rather small screen; I wish it were bigger.

I'm curious about scrapping the netbook and getting an iPad instead and was curious if anyone else takes an iPad with them on bike trips.

Yes, I'd continue taking my iPhone so that I can make phone calls.

·
Registered
1,096 Posts
I always carry my 13" laptop when I travel. It does everthing I need (email, browsing, Quicken etc) and also has my pdf service manual in case I need to reference it on the road... it saves carrying the heavy paper service manual on the bike. All my personal files are kept in a 'TrueCrypt' container in case the laptop is lost or stolen. If an IPAD can do all that then I will consider one when my Laptop needs replacement.

·
Premium Member
198 Posts
When I take long bike trips, I always have my iPhone and sometimes take a 7" netbook so I can check email, log into weather sites, check news, and connect into the servers at work in case of emergency tech support needs (I work in IT). I also use one or the other to play games and read eBooks when chilling in the evenings. The iPhone does much of what I want but it's got a rather small screen; I wish it were bigger.

I'm curious about scrapping the netbook and getting an iPad instead and was curious if anyone else takes an iPad with them on bike trips.

Yes, I'd continue taking my iPhone so that I can make phone calls.