StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I finished the suspension upgrades to my Vee over the weekend and was able to take her out for a short ride to see how things felt. I'll update this thread once I've had some more seat time and experienced a wider variety of road conditions for a better evaluation.

The bike feels a lot more planted now and doesn't dive or porpoise when going over undulations in the road like it did before. Riding over some bumpier sections of pavement, I didn't notice a significantly harsher ride, but I could tell that things were firmer than before. Firm application of the brakes has significantly less front-end dive than before.

The rear shock is a nice improvement over the stocker, with a better spring rate and better damping to keep the rear end in line. I set the rebound damping at 3 (out of 5) and it seems like a pretty good fit for the riding I was doing. For the forks, I've simply put in a higher spring rate (.95kg/mm) with springs from Race Tech and 10wt fork oil from Motul. For budgetary reasons, I have held off on the gold valves for the time being. Sag is set at ~40mm front and rear.

It's hard to get a shot of the shock installed in the bike, but here's one of the RAP adjuster hiding in the passenger peg mount and the old shock in the foreground:

And here's a closeup of the top of the shock from the bike's left side:

·
Registered
2,279 Posts
465 data sheet is wrong

The 465 is s very nice and cost-effective upgrade that provides a greatly improved ride. However, its stock spring is just barely adequate for 2-up riding with camping gear, at the bike's maximum carrying capacity.

Further, the data sheet says that the minimum spring length, with the 01-1004 spring, is 7.52", which leaves no room at all for any preload adjustment with the lock ring. It's already at that length with the ring fully backed out.