StromTrooper banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
631 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I've been looking at Vstrom's since they came out in the US, but never pulled the trigger on one, until now. I just brought home a nice 2006 DL1000 on Sunday and am pretty pleased overall.

I've been riding for roughly 30 years with a few breaks in there of a year or so. Up to now, mainly big bore street bikes - Hayabusa's, ZRX's, ZX12, Triumphs Daytona's, etc. Tried a Versys earlier this year and that convinced me that now is the right time for something in the general Adventure/Utility category. That Versys proved too physically small and I found a buyer for it about the same time I closed the deal on the DL1000. Timing couldn't have been any better.

Looking forward to learning tips/tricks for this beasty and creating some good memories with it in the years to come.

Jim

·
Registered
469 Posts
Nice clean copy. Must have very few miles on it. Other than that it looks just like mine. Well, that and I spent a couple thousand on must have accessories...

Have fun with that. ;)

·
Registered
631 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
You are correct, just over 8k miles when I brought it home. I have a few ideas of "gotta have" accessories (centerstand....Suzuki or Motech or ?, a different windscreen, raise the rear ride height) but nothing too major until I get enough saddle time to really know what I have to begin with.

What accessories have separated you from more than a fistful of dollars?

·
Registered
469 Posts
You are correct, just over 8k miles when I brought it home. I have a few ideas of "gotta have" accessories (centerstand....Suzuki or Motech or ?, a different windscreen, raise the rear ride height) but nothing too major until I get enough saddle time to really know what I have to begin with.

What accessories have separated you from more than a fistful of dollars?
Here are my money wasters (by the way, my '04 came completely stock too):

My orders were for: