StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
2018 V-Strom 1K
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I probably need some sort of top box.

I was on the GIVIUSA website and I see that they offer a kit that mounts to the rear rack and it has an arm on each side that mounts down and sorta diagonally. It also has some spacers and such. Extra support ???

And then there are all manner of plates to mount to that mount. Many of them look the same. And then there's Monolock and Monokey. Durrrrrr.

Please be gentle - this is my first attempt at a quick release top box. Before, I just drilled and mounted all of the others - but now I think that a quick detach feature might be nice.

Suggestions ?

Thanks,
Kevin

·
Registered
3,614 Posts
YEs most likely support arms. Topo cases usually sit back past the rear rack to give the pillion room. Since it is cantilevered over tha back of the rack some additional support is a good idea. Think of it like the angled support on folding table legs.

·
Registered
311 Posts
I had good luck calling and talking to their customer support. I needed an obscure part and they made it available for me; another time I had them give me the part number breakdown for everything I needed to mount luggage on wife's CB500X.

They were very helpful so maybe give them a call. By the way if a part has a K number equivalent to a G number, it is the same part for less money (Kappa brand vs Givi). Givi customer support is the one who told this to me and I saved over $200.

Look at the Kappa cases, sometimes they run excellent sale prices. Tourandride.com is the Givi USA retail site.

·
Premium Member
1,672 Posts
What you want is the Givi SRA3112 or the Kappa KRA3112 for Monokey cases.

The diagonal side supports are essential to a secure top box and the Monokey line has the best options from Givi/Kappa.

This is the setup I have and I would not use anything else other than soft bags.

·
Premium Member
1,672 Posts