StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I'm kinda new to the site but I wanted to run something by everyone to see if they agree or if I'm way out in left field.
Anyways, I went for a nice 100 or so mile ride today on the V-Strom as it was such a nice day. I did mostly two lane roads and there was quite a few bikes out. I'm a huge bike fan and will "wave" to anyone on a bike, but I noticed roughly 75% of the time on the Strom I never have it returned.
I commute with this bike a lot and first thought it was just coincidence or that I was on larger roads where people had other things on their minds, but after today I'm convinced it's the bike.
I probably wouldn't have noticed so much but I have two other sportbikes I have been riding for a little over 3 years in the same area and this never happens on either one of them.
I love my V tremendously but I guess it's not quite as popular in the bike world, haha. Oh well, it makes me happy and that's all that matters.

·
Premium Member
15,739 Posts
There are quite a few threads about waving. It seems to mainly be something that older riders do.
Generally I find HD and BMW riders tend to ignore waves and crouch rocket riders if they response tend to do so with a nod rather than a wave so I have started nodding at them as well and that seems to increase the frequency of responses.

·
Registered
157 Posts
Not here...I passed (and waved to) about 20-25 bikes today, and I think 3 or 4 didn't wave. Two of them were on crotch rockets, and they nodded instead.

·
Registered
178 Posts
Wow, nearly everyone out in these parts wave. I get it all the time from sportbikes and cruisers.