StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been building my own skid plate for my 2012 V-Strom 650 with Puig crash bars / engine guards due to there being limited availability of skid plates that fit these particular bars. I wanted to share once the skid plate was finished but call me impatient lol or too excited not to at least share my process and progress.

There is the saying, "If you can't find it or can't afford it, then build it". Now I have no idea who said that, but I like it, and that is exactly what I did.

After researching the various skid plate options, I decided that I wanted to make a skid plate that fit my needs (or wants) and price point. Granted when everything is said and done, I will probably have just as much into it with all trial and error costs as I would from just buying a pre-made plate, but hey where's the fun in that?

Starting off, I mocked up the skid plate design using cardboard and masking tape. I opted to have the sides of the skid plate bolted to the bottom due to lacking a welder to weld aluminum.

Many other skid plates had the bottom plate pieces that bend upwards be equal length and equal angle, so I started with that design as a baseline.

The mock-up was progressing smoothly; however, I could not help but think, the design is too wide. Low and behold, I put the kickstand down and it hit the "plate" (cardboard).

My original solution was to trim that edge, but the more I thought about it, the more I did not like the idea. Also, the more I looked at the "plate", the more I wanted to make it more streamlined. So, I scrapped the now Mark 1 mock-up and started anew.

The Mark 2 mock-up ended up being more streamlined, narrower, and yet it was still protective of the engine and oil filter. Exactly what I wanted.

I abandoned my attempt at making equal length and angle bottom plate pieces in favor of different piece lengths with angles that fit closely to the exhaust pipe.