StromTrooper banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK. I've been considering a V-Strom for several years. I think I am ready to pull the trigger. I currently own a 2009 BMW R1200RT and a 2011 Yamaha FZ8, both of which have been for sale off-and-on the last couple of years. I thought I either wanted a naked bike and that nice clean air (FZ8 ), or massive wind protection (R1200RT). After only putting between 1,000 and 2,000 miles a year on each bike the last 4 years (plus a couple of bikes for my girlfriend), I've decided I would really like to get down to just one bike, a V-Strom 650.

A dealer about 40 minutes away has a new 2016 V-Strom 650ABS, in red (pretty), for $6999. Add $299 setup/delivery/freight/whatever, $89 doc fee and taxes and it seems like a screaming deal. Problem is, I REALLY don't want to store 3 bikes over the winter. I just got to the point where we can get 2 cars in the garage. My car got kicked out by my girlfriend's brand new BMW X3. Got the price on the FZ8 down to $4,800 and just can't sell it. Dealer only offered $3500 trade. I can probably sell it next spring easily for $4500 +.

So...should I just buy the V-Strom? Is it too good deal to pass up? Not sure how it would fit in the garage, but I can give it a try.

·
Registered
168 Posts
You already have a couple bikes that you are not riding, why add another? If you can sell both other bikes, than I would shop for the Vee2. Thinking winter is the best time, especially in your area.

·
Registered
491 Posts
Great bike for riding in Idaho, well any bike really, Idaho is beautiful!

uncaged

·
Registered
196 Posts
If you want it and have the money, get it.

But...keep in mind, a piece of machinery not being used, needs its own care. If you have all the others, and you spend even a minimum of time working...the ones less favored won't get much use.