StromTrooper banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
43 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm taking the MSF course in a few weeks, and cannot wait to get on a strom afterwards (thinking about the 650 abs). Part of the requirement of the class is to have boots that protect the ankles. I went to the local bike dealer too see what kind of riding boots they have. I saw a pair of Alpine Star boots that I liked, but the size 13 was too tight (length was fine, but they just crowded my feet), and apparently do not make a size 14, or 13w. So I started wondering what everyone else wears while riding. Should I get designated riding boots? Just get something to get through the class and wear regular shoes? I'm new to the whole riding thing, and will be on here a lot asking questions.
BTW, if anyone within some kind of reasonable distance from me has a strom in silver, gray, or black that is thinking about selling, please let me know. (I saw the one for sale in San Diego, but just don't think I could deal with red...)

·
Premium Member
3,722 Posts
Purpose-made boots typically have pads or thick leather on top of the toes where the shifter hits, and they also seldom have laces. Laces tend to get caught on foot pegs, shifters, and brake levers at inconvenient times. I wear "Combat Boots" when I ride to work simply because they are comfortable, but I keep the laces where they won't cause problems. I also have some Alpine Stars Web Goretex boots and some Sidi M2 boots. They provide better protection but at the cost of being rather stiff to walk in.

·
Registered
1,096 Posts
Find some comfortable footwear that protects your ankles. You have to be able to walk after you get to yoru destination.

·
Registered
368 Posts