StromTrooper banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Has anyone got one yet? They look great, but do they fit like the old RF-1000? If you have one, or get one, let us all know what you think.

·
Premium Member
335 Posts
They are $45 less at Helmet City, at least for the wine color.

·
Registered
35 Posts
They are $45 less at Helmet City, at least for the wine color.
Are you looking at the RF-1000 or RF-1100. The price for a Wine RF-1100 at Helmet City is $377.99 and $324.99 at Com Acc. Both have free shipping. If you are looking for a closeout on the RF-1000 there are deals all over the place. I have not shopped them all, because, well I'm looking for the 1100.

·
Registered
51 Posts
Firstly, I'm no expert on helmets and sorry if I'm missing something (or highjacking the thread), but why do some people pay so much money for these type of helmets and whats wrong with the cheaper ones?

I got one of those seven zero seven helmets from cycle gear. It is both DOT and Snell certified, so it's clearly a strong helmet. It is my understanding that Snell approved is stronger than DOT in the sense that it is designed to withstand multiple impacts in one area where as DOT to withstand just one.

Anyway, I got mine on sale for $69.99 (MSRP was like $130), and it has the removal pads, visor, chin strap, etc. Mostly all the same stuff the more expensive Shoei or Arai helmets do. It is just slightly better ventilation and noise reduction you pay for? Do you think it just looks better?

I wear ear plugs while riding, and if an aftermarket shield takes care of the buffetting, why pay so much more?

·
Registered
152 Posts
It is my understanding that Snell approved is stronger than DOT in the sense that it is designed to withstand multiple impacts in one area where as DOT to withstand just one.
While both test are conducted with multiple impacts, it is still recommended that your helmet be inspected or replaced after it has absorbed an impact.

FIFA STAR said: