StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok, I'll make this as short as possible, and I really don't want to hear "You are the man, and should be in charge of your house comments (PLEASE)". I've been riding my bike for a couple of months on base (jacksonville, fl) to get comfortable with the bike and the hectic driving habits of cagers, I am now going to bring it home. For reasons unknown to me, she who must be obeyed (my wife) has decided that the cheap 650 dollar Murray riding lawn mower, has more value than my brand new 2014 Vstrom 650 adventure. Therefore, in her infinite wisdom, she has deemed the bike not worthy of being in the garage. Since purchasing the bike alone created a ruckus (not the honda type), I just want to bring my bike home.
Since it was here, that I came to get the advice to buy the greatest bike known to mankind, I decided that perhaps you could offer storage advice. I'd like to know if anyone has any experience with the folding tent type of storage solutions. I need to keep the bike in my backyard. I stay in a safe community and have no fears of theft. My chief concerns are sun and rain. Thanks for your input in this "delicate" situation.

·
Registered
1,039 Posts
I've had to store my bikes outside under large water proof covers. The key is having a floor, those tent things work but they are not durable like a small shed. I rather just put one under a car port and then cover it too before buying those tent contraptions. I personally don't have garage space for a bike, so I leave my bike in an enclosed 12' Haulmark trailer. Before that I parked on gravel and just used a cover. You could find a cheap used enclosed trailer if you can park one at home and they can be used for other hauling too.