Strom Trooper banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a 2014 Vstrom 650 with a Sargent seat. I’m new to motorcycling and only have about a 31” inseam; so right now seat height is important. Is there a way to tell whether a Sargent seat is the regular or low? Is the factory low seat any good? I’ve thought about buying the OEM low seat and giving it a try and keep the Sargent for when I get more experienced and it would be just fine. Comments? Anybody got a good used OEM low seat for sale? 😜

·
Registered
81 Posts
Sargent seats are awesome! I don't know if they come in a low.
You may be able to remove the rubber bumpers from bottom of seat and gain 1/2"
Also check out AdventureTech (on this forum) lowering links. Inexpensive, good quality and he provides really good info on the links.

·
Registered
634 Posts
IMHO - I would try to connect with other V Strom riders in your area. You may be able to find someone with a lower seat willing to let you try it out to see if it would works for you.

Another Option: You could purchase a used stock seat and have an upholstery shop modify it for you.

Seats are so PERSONALIZED because peoples 'backside' are so personalized and unique!!!

·
Registered
634 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks for the replies! I’ve done the AdventureTech 5/8” lowering links, dropped the front about 13mm, and added a Happy Trails center stand. I guess I’m wondering if the OEM seat might also be narrower. I’m coming off bicycles for over 25 years, so I’m not used to such a wide seat. It is comfy once going. Being new, and this being a pretty big compared to a 24lb XC racing mtb, is a pretty big change! 😜. I probably just need to continue riding for experience and I think the flat foot want will prob diminish as I get more experience.

·
Premium Member
393 Posts