StromTrooper banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all,
I just joined a few days ago and have begun lurking. Lots of good info on here. I currently ride a k3 SV650S but I'm looking to the Stroms. The differences between the two and even the transition from the SV seem to be covered pretty well. I still keep going back and forth between the (W/V)ee.
Anyways I'm 27 and my back is finally asking me for a more comfortable ride. I commute ~30min a day on SV and the clip-ons are starting to get to me. I've been riding this bike for over 3 years now and it was my only mode of transportation for over a year and is still my main mode when just going out alone. Before that I had a 2000 GS500, so I guess I'm a Suzuki-phile, but only by accident - they just keep making the most bang for the buck in the category of bikes I'm shopping for.
Anyways thanks for all the info and I'll be poking around. Cheers,
-Matt

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Definitely! I started going out to the local deserts to camp on random weekends and have to drive all these great roads to get out there. I'm hoping if I get a Strom and the proper luggage/"farkles" it will be capable enough to get me out there and to my hiking trails. They're all on dirt trails - some soft sand (making me lean towards the 650 for the weight).
I love my SVS, but with the clip-ons and shorter range per tank it's not very practical to modify that to take it out there.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Trophy,
Really appreciate it. Looks like a cool forum. Do you go one the off roading portions with that group on your Strom?

Might have to meet up with you next year to check out your baby.

·
Registered
527 Posts
I've done a little with the Strom but since I have the DR...it spends the most time in the dirt. A lot of skinny orange bikes on the forum but also a good contingent of folks with bigger bikes and strictly road bikes.