StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Why is it that I hear a lot of people end the riding season for the year when salt is put down first?
too cold?
I get that.

Sorry if it's a noob question but I am a noob.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J120A using Tapatalk

·
Administrator
13,194 Posts
Because they know that at the first evidence of salt their bike will immediately decompose into a pile of corroded metal.

..Tom

·
Registered
2,054 Posts
Why is it that I hear a lot of people end the riding season for the year when salt is put down first?
too cold?
I get that.

Sorry if it's a noob question but I am a noob.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-J120A using Tapatalk
Salt is hard on metal and some folks get scared of debris on the road so they simply hang up riding until spring. I am not one of these folks. Heated gear and a 3rd wheel extend my season to year round and all conditions. :kiss:

Attachments

·
Registered
98 Posts
Cold weather, icy patches, loose salt and gravel takes the fun out of it for me. As soon as the temperature dips below 0 c the bikes are parked until it warms up in the spring. Used to stud the tires on dirt bikes and ride on lakes and hard packed snow but it was freaking cold no matter what I wore.

·
Premium Member
4,784 Posts
Same bunch that think 30k km is a "high mileage" bike.

Never have yet seen an issue from whatever they put on these days which is not likely salt.

Motor loves the cold air. C3 helmet is fog free...heated innersoles and gloves...I'm good to 0 C and perhaps a bit below if it's dry.

They use some sort of a sprayed on brine here in S Ontario.

·
Registered
635 Posts

Never have yet seen an issue from whatever they put on these days which is not likely salt.

Motor loves the cold air. C3 helmet is fog free...heated innersoles and gloves...I'm good to 0 C and perhaps a bit below if it's dry.