StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 69 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey all- looking for some opinions.

As a relative newbie, I encountered a situation the other day on a ride that I was not sure if there was a "biker's etiquette" for.

Riding along a rural two lane state road with moderate traffic- enjoying the weather and the ride when from way back I see a kid on a rocket passing everything in site. He comes up behind me and just hangs- I am doing like 65-70 and I moved to the right of the lane to give him as much room as possible to pass. He just sat there for several minutes...then finally shot by me like an idiot and continued to pass everything in site at a very high rate. Of course he had on a t-shirt and shorts.

My question then is this-

1. What is the right thing to do if another bike wants to pass?
2. How do you deal with the other traffic on the road that is now all pissed off at the "stupid bikers" and you are the only one left on the road with them?

I won't turn this into a rant...just the first time I have been approached and passed by another bike.

Thanks for the input.

·
Registered
148 Posts
You did the right thing.
I drive fuel trucks. Very large ones, so I tend to be cautious whether on the bike or in the cab.
The best place for a tailgater or a test pilot is ahead of you, and favouring the right portion of the lane gives both of you the cushion YOU need, to escape a bad situation.
I would not be bullied by other bikes, but it was clear the rocket was going to want by soon enough.

·
Registered
180 Posts
I do pretty much the same. I move to the right a bit and give a thumbs up with my left hand.

·
Registered
636 Posts
In that situation you move over to the right hand side of the lane and when it is safe to do so, wave the other rider through with your left hand. By doing so you are acknowledging that you are ready to be passed and are comfortable with it.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #5