StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to the motorbike world and just purchased myself a new yellow wee as my first bike. I am going to be buying a Firstgear Kilimanjaro 4.0 jacket off of newenough. Before ordering I am also wondering if a person should buy the pants as well. I just wonder how necessary they are during the summer months. I can see the benefit of them for rain pants and of course wearing them during the cooler days. I don't want to buy them if I am not going to look cool while wearing them!:lol:

·
Registered
3,165 Posts
There is also the benefit of not loosing copious amounts of flesh in the event that you crash. That's almost as good as keeping your legs dry in a rainstorm.

·
Registered
2,168 Posts
I am new to the motorbike world and just purchased myself a new yellow wee as my first bike.
Fantastic!! You'll love it!

I am going to be buying a Firstgear Kilimanjaro 4.0 jacket off of newenough. Before ordering I am also wondering if a person should buy the pants as well.
Absolutely, and wear them every time you roll out of the driveway, regardless of the length of the trip or the weather conditions. You only own one layer of skin. Blue jeans- you may as well be wearing gym shorts if you go down wearing blue jeans. Sliding down pavement is like sliding down a cheese grater. Ballistic fabric and padding at knees and hips. Aerostich Darien are my pants, and jacket, too.

I just wonder how necessary they are during the summer months.
They are necessary every time you mount the bike, every month of the year, even the dog days of summer. Sliding down pavement, like asphalt, is bad enough. Imagine sliding down mid-summer asphalt and losing the clothing protecting your flesh. You can fry an egg on hot asphalt, that just adds to your injuries. And concrete is just pure evil to the flesh, summer or winter.