StromTrooper banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have put about 2000 miles on my new to me 09 Wee. One of the reasons I bought it was its ability to get off road ( to some extent). This past weekend I finally got up the nerve to take off on one of Georgia's red clay dirt roads. All was fine until the road became a mixture of 50% clay and 50% gravel. I never got to the point where I felt life I was fully in control even at 25-30 mph. Are there any tips or secrets to riding on gravel - if there are I would rather hear them here than learn them sliding on my face through gravel...

·
Living the Stereotype
11,544 Posts
I would rather hear them here than learn them sliding on my face through gravel...
Looks are over rated.

Relax, stand on the pegs and don't look at the gravel.

·
Registered
707 Posts
I'm still learning this myself so I may not be the one to provide the voice of experience in terms of advice. In fact, I have dropped my bike twice, but I'm still practicing. That's what I have to offer because that's what my research has returned: practice. Get out there and ride it: mud, water, gravel, loose stuff, grass. Practice at your own speed and learn how to handle your bike.

I believe that we will see replies here that will include advanced rider course work and other professional training recommendations. I don't have lots-o-cash for that kind of stuff so I just keep riding; slow, careful, and practice. I am blessed with access to about 8 acres of varied terrain/slopes. I don't have any gravel and I went looking for some this last weekend. I didn't find any gravel but I did find some memorable roads. Just practice...

·
Registered
259 Posts
Gravel Riding

1. Stand up

2. stick your rear to the rear

3. slow before the corner

4. re apply the throttle

4a. turn your head and look thru the turn

5. iniatiate a counter steering input